Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Build Thread x3

Build Thread x3

Hello, all! This is my very second new thread here and I am completely new to the hobby. You are dealing with a noob. I've already made mistakes and I'm going to share them with you. This is a long read. I took a lot of inspiration from some of the posts I've seen on this forum. Oh, I read all the FAQs too. I saw mike505's warning to be considerate of dial-up users and refrain from posting pictures larger that 640x480. I'm not sure ho diligently folks are adhering to that guidance after browsing the sticky gallery threads. I'll try to keep my pictures under 640 px width but I cheated a bit on the height of some of the following pictures. To the dial-up users, I apologize for the large photos.

So, just like getting in to CB radio, I've long been interested in hobby grade R/C cars but never took the plunge. A couple months ago after a trip to Goodwill my son came home with a 10+ year old 1/10-scale toy-grade car that likely came from Radioshack. It had no radio, battery or battery hatch. He played with it like it was a push car until after only a few days one of the steering knuckles broke. I eventually fixed it but while the gimped truck sat on my workbench I wondered what it would take to get it working. I researched the FCC website to find the right radio for it. I pulled it apart, cleaned it up and saw that the receiver circuit board was physically damaged so then I decided it wasn't worth the money to hunt down a radio and find the right battery for the truck. Instead, I cannibalized the radio, receiver and battery compartment from an absolute junk toy-grade Corvette he already had and transplanted it into the truck. It worked and I nearly broke my arm patting myself on the back, but it was painful to watch it limp around the yard.