RC Enthusiast

Bandit VXL Must-Have Mods?

Hey guys! I'm pretty new to the RC game, and am going to buy a Bandit VXL. Are there any must-have mods I should know about?

Depends where and how you drive. Are you running on 2s or 3s? On road or off road? Get a good set of tires that best suit the terrain you mostly drive on. Get a variety of pinion and spur gears, a good set of tools. When you break things replace them with upgraded parts.
    Monster Baja Sla2h VXL
    Rustler VXL

RC Enthusiast
    I'll be running with a 3s, and a mix of on/off-road. I am also planning on getting the anaconda tires and setting up the rpm and temperature and voltage sensors.

In stock form the Bandit is a pretty reliable car and one of the only thing that needs to be upgraded is the shock caps. The problem is that the plastic caps have tendency to pop up easily and to solve the problem, it needs aluminum caps, it's cheap and it fixes the problem definitely.

If ever you want to go that way, those informations could be usefull. https://forums.traxxas.com/showthrea...ium-shock-caps
    Good driver. Bad setup. Bad things will happen...

Also get the traxxas aluminum castor blocks and bearing carriers. The telemetry sensors are a good idea so you can monitor in real time whats going on. I have the motor temp and voltage on both my vehicles. Everything else replace with RPM parts when they break. Get a clear body and some decals, stock bodies are boring. Gotta customize and make it your own.
    Monster Baja Sla2h VXL
    Rustler VXL

RC Enthusiast
    Are these the right type of shock caps?
    https://www.amainhobbies.com/traxxas...tra2667/p17463
    Also, how would I replace the little metal ball thing that goes in the hole at the top of the cap?

RC Enthusiast
    Never mind. I found a better set. I still have the question about the little ball thing though.

Quote Originally Posted by castlema924 View Post