RC poster

Rustler 4x4 VXL steering doesnít work but throttle works fine

So I finally got my rustler 4x4 VXL the other day. Took it out for a test drive and after a little while the steering stopped working. The throttle forward and back works fine. Also there is a noise that comes out of the vehicle that wasnít before this issue ?

Iím new to The RC world so I need help. Im surprised that after one day out of the box this has happened.

Did you run into anything head on? Sounds like a stripped servo. Does the noise only happen when you're trying to turn the wheels?

RC poster
    Yes it makes the noise when I try to turn the wheel left or right ? Sometime even when I just turn it on. It flipped a few times when I was testing it but nothing crazy .

I'm new to the Rustler 4x4 scene as well. I'd start by removing the front end, removing the servo, and check your servo gears. I had the same issue with my 1/16 E-Revo, and it ended up being the servo. Those plastic gears don't hold up well.

RC poster
    Im looking at it and it seems like a big job to remove that front end to just get to the servo. where would I even start? is there a manual or video to show me how to do such a thing on this car?

It looks like there's only four screws and the servo horn screw that need to be removed. Here's a video I found showing how to do it. Looks pretty easy. I don't know how good the servo is he's using as a replacement, but you'll see how to get the front end off about two minutes into the video.

https://youtu.be/6VQyZofcwic

RC poster
    Thanks really appreciate you help

it seems the stock servo installed is a pretty low quality piece!!