Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RC Competitor

Need help making a final decision. Hw or castle... or....?

Sorry for the posts lately. I’m new to the hobby and want to learn how to do everything the right way the first time. I’ve had my crawler for a few months now and it’s time for a motor and esc upgrade. I’m stuck between the hobbywing axe system and the castle mamba x. Mainly the kv ratings honestly. I like hw because of the built in Bluetooth, but the castle seems to run cooler and handle more of a load better. I like trailing and crawling, as well as pulling around some things with chains and such. Also would like to run my tracks in the winter with no trouble. Help... castle 540 or 550 2300kv, or castle 1800kv, or castle 2850.. or some combo like the mamba and a different motor. Anything really. Just want to be able to have fun on 3s without overheating every few minutes. Thanks guys!
    Last edited by Millsie; 07-05-2020 at 11:01 PM.

The Hobbywing Axe is sealed better (almost nothing gets in it). I have seen others completely submerge it underwater, and not have a single problem with it. The Axe is also smoother.
    Everyday's a gift, thus now is called the present.

RC Competitor
    Quote Originally Posted by RCWilly View Post
    The Hobbywing Axe is sealed better (almost nothing gets in it). I have seen others completely submerge it underwater, and not have a single problem with it. The Axe is also smoother.
    Would you recommend 540 or 550? And what about kv.. like the 2300?

RC Racer
    Have you thought about staying brushed?Hobbywing 1080 and a Holmes hobbies trailmaster sport. Less than half the price of a brushless esc and you have a whole system ready to go.

RC Competitor
    Quote Originally Posted by MysterE View Post
    Have you thought about staying brushed?Hobbywing 1080 and a Holmes hobbies trailmaster sport. Less than half the price of a brushless esc and you have a whole system ready to go.