RC poster

2 wd or 4x4 for a newbie

Hey guys, I'm just getting into the hobby and was wondering about 2wd vs 4x4 for starting out.
    I will be primarily running a track in my back yard.

Any advice would be helpful.

Thanks again,

Monch.

RC Champion
    What type of surface will the track be made of?

Sent from my LM-G710VM using Tapatalk

RC poster
    The soil is very clay like. so it would be pretty hard packed but not completely smooth.

A 2wd would do fine on that type of surface. It really depends on your driving style.

Here is a (simplified) summary of their main differences:

2wd:
    - slides around more, which may require better driving skills (rwd oversteers if you really push on the throttle when turning, fwd tends to understeer when you do the same thing)
    - only two wheel braking (rwd have rw braking, fwd has front braking, and fwd usually have better braking than rwd)
    - Less parts, so is generally easier to work on, and less things can go wrong with it
    - Usually costs less

4wd:
    - slides around less, so easier to control (still can spin out if you really push on the throttle, but it tends to understeer more than oversteer)
    - 4 wheel braking (much more improved braking compared to their 2wd counterparts)
    - More parts, may require more maintenance and work, perhaps more things can go wrong
    - Usually costs more

I would recommend a 2wd for most beginners, since it is easier to work on, and more reliable. It also offers a much more exciting driving experience, since it is more reactive. (It's also better if you are on a budget). However, if you want the increased stability in cornering and braking, then go with the 4wd.
    Last edited by RCWilly; 07-16-2020 at 08:27 PM.
    Everyday's a gift, thus now is called the present.

RC Enthusiast
    I bought my 2WD back in May and have all manner of terrain on my land.