RC poster

Upgrading Steering servo...what to buy?

New XMaxx owner here. I've only run the truck about 4 times. Its a blast to drive. I think I might have damaged the steering servo but will know for sure the next time I have a day off to play with it!

I would like to get another steering servo on hand and want something better than the stock servo. I'm just getting into this hobby and don't know muuch about speed ratings and power out of the original servo. I'm willing to drop some money on a decent one thats better than the stock servo. What are you all upgrading to?

The only mods/upgrade that I've done to the truck is the RPM rear hubs and bearings. I had one of the original bearing seals fall off on the third run. Are there any other must have upgrades?

Thanks!

RC Champion
    Hi mate, congrats for your monster. To upgrading the servo you have many options, the best is PROMODELER, an outstanding quality product, Traxxas 2085X is a good choice too, better than the stock one, Savox have very good quality options too, if you choose a 1/10 size servo, you need to buy the Traxxas adapter 7749 to fit it. In my particular case, I install a JX 46kg with the adapter, nice performance and good price.

Perhaps the promolder 630 is the best servo. It's currently backordered a month or two. Due to part supply issues, small company. That makes high end servos for undisclosed government contracts. And offers us RC folks some great servos for decent prices.

Do need the adapter. To run this or any other standard 1/10th scale servo. Would also want to get the metal servo saver spring.

Could use any other 1/10th scale servo at or over 448 oz/in

2085x (comes with spring) is 448 oz at 6v it is decent and what I have in mine as didn't quite know about promodeler at time.

Depending on what your doing stiffer springs if doing big air. Perhaps shock socks ,.

The rear hub carriers and threaded pins are the big must have one.

As you break a arms go with trx hd arms or Rpm arms.