Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    75

    TQi 6530 Transmitter modification, channel 3 question

    Hi all
    I'm getting back into RC after a few years off & have found my old TQi with the iPhone Dock is dead. (It's actually a bricked phone, but either way, it needs replacing)

    The new bluetooth TQi seems the obvious choice, as it is compatible with all my receivers and I have an android phone for the app.

    Only issue, I modified my old TQi to have a "centre off" switch on channel 3. I need 3 positions on the servo for my crawler, full left, full right and centre.

    So I guess the question is, can I perform the same mod on the new TQi?

    Many thanks

  2. #2
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Canary Islands, Tenerife, Spain.
    Posts
    1,217
    Quote Originally Posted by Chewbacca 3 View Post
    Hi all
    I'm getting back into RC after a few years off & have found my old TQi with the iPhone Dock is dead. (It's actually a bricked phone, but either way, it needs replacing)

    The new bluetooth TQi seems the obvious choice, as it is compatible with all my receivers and I have an android phone for the app.

    Only issue, I modified my old TQi to have a "centre off" switch on channel 3. I need 3 positions on the servo for my crawler, full left, full right and centre.

    So I guess the question is, can I perform the same mod on the new TQi?

    Many thanks
    Hi mate, if you want, TQi TX has a four channel model, with swich for locking diffs.

  3. #3
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    75
    Thanks for the reply, I maybe should have given more details, the top rocker switch for channels 4/5 is already in use on my crawler.

    Channel 3 has been modified for 3 position rear wheel steering. Centre off makes the crawler a normal 2 wheel steer.
    Channel 4 switches to full time 4ws when engaged, so the rear is driven by the front or when flicked the other way (channel 5 if you like) full time 4ws but reversed direction for the rears to give a "crab" effect for want of a better term.

    As for my 2 traxxas RCs, 1 just uses 2 channels, the other a 3rd to switch some lights on. Basically getting the new style transmitter would have no issue with these.

    Hope that makes it a little clearer.
    Cheers

  4. #4
    RC Champion grizzly03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Adirondacks
    Posts
    2,115
    Quote Originally Posted by Chewbacca 3 View Post
    Only issue, I modified my old TQi to have a "centre off" switch on channel 3. I need 3 positions on the servo for my crawler, full left, full right and centre.

    So I guess the question is, can I perform the same mod on the new TQi?
    If you do the mod let us know what you did. I would do it to one of my controllers. I haven't opened one up but they appear to be the same except for the BlueTooth module.


  5. #5
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    75
    Well, I've picked one up. First test though, there's an issue with channel 4 before I've even opened it up.
    Once I've sorted that, or ditched it as faulty, I'll report back.

  6. #6
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Canary Islands, Tenerife, Spain.
    Posts
    1,217
    Quote Originally Posted by Chewbacca 3 View Post
    Well, I've picked one up. First test though, there's an issue with channel 4 before I've even opened it up.
    Once I've sorted that, or ditched it as faulty, I'll report back.
    Hope you can solve it soon.

  7. #7
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    21
    You just need a 3 position switch like the on on the top of the radio, and to make a plate to mount it where the old red switch is. The red switch has only 3 wires so its easy to convert. I used to do for my my crawlers too

  8. #8
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    75
    It's exactly what I've done with my older TQi with iPhone Dock built in.

    First photo, hope this works....



    It appears not....

    [*IMG*]https://flic.kr/p/2jBy4mV[/IMG]
    If you remove the *s, anyone know what's wrong with this link please?
    Last edited by Chewbacca 3; 08-30-2020 at 04:17 AM.

  9. #9
    RC Champion grizzly03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Adirondacks
    Posts
    2,115
    Quote Originally Posted by Chewbacca 3 View Post
    It's exactly what I've done with my older TQi with iPhone Dock built in.

    First photo, hope this works....



    It appears not....

    [*IMG*]https://flic.kr/p/2jBy4mV[/IMG]
    If you remove the *s, anyone know what's wrong with this link please?
    I use the BBCode from Flicker site (I'm using a desktop) and enter it in the Insert Image link. Many say that Tapatalk is easier for a mobile device.

  10. #10
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Canary Islands, Tenerife, Spain.
    Posts
    1,217


    I upload the image to a server.

  11. #11
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    75
    hi all. I've got to get the photo issue sorted, it's a flickr/phone issue I've discovered on another thread.
    I've updates on this mini project to post up, I'll try to find time later today.

  12. #12
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by Juanmacine View Post
    In the meantime, this is my old transmitter. You can see the channel 3 red rocker switch has been swapped out for an on-off-on toggle switch. It was a simple modification that hopefully replicates on the newer bluetooth transmitter.

  13. #13
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    75
    So here goes, see how badly I can mess up all the photos!

    The unit opens up very easily, just whip the screws out & the back cover lifts away. Take your bluetooth module out first if you have one, the pins for the connection on this are long & suspect easily damaged.
    On this picture you can see the PCB mounted rocker switch for channel 3.




    So for testing, I disconnected the black wire (common on the switch) and powered up.
    With black disconnected, the channel 3 servo sat at the centre point. touch onto yellow sends it one way, touch onto purple the other. Disconnect & it centralises again.




    Next step, disconnect purple & yellow at the switch, take the 2 screws out & remove the rocker completely.
    This leaves a slot in the case, but a standard mini toggle switch fastens into the top perfectly. I just used a bit of sticky black foam to fill the rest of the hole up.




    Solder the 3 wires into place on the new switch & job done. You don't need a 2 sets of connections on your switch, it was all I had laying around so there's a set of unused terminals on my switch. It just needs to be on-off-on to work.




    Be careful putting the case back together that you don't trap any of the wires.
    Once complete channel 3 now has a centre position instead of just full left & right. You obviously can't change end points etc, but it makes the channel much more flexible for other uses, in my case part of the rear steering on my crawler!




    Oh, I found out what the weird channel 4 issue was; it's a dodgy switching unit plugged into the receiver, nothing to do with the new transmitter at all.

  14. #14
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Canary Islands, Tenerife, Spain.
    Posts
    1,217
    Quote Originally Posted by Chewbacca 3 View Post
    In the meantime, this is my old transmitter. You can see the channel 3 red rocker switch has been swapped out for an on-off-on toggle switch. It was a simple modification that hopefully replicates on the newer bluetooth transmitter.
    Of course, you can swap the switch for the toggle one as you make in the older one TX.

  15. #15
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    75
    That's exactly what I did, plus used the rocker switch from the new unit to make the old transmitter stock again.

  16. #16
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Canary Islands, Tenerife, Spain.
    Posts
    1,217
    Quote Originally Posted by Chewbacca 3 View Post
    So here goes, see how badly I can mess up all the photos!

    The unit opens up very easily, just whip the screws out & the back cover lifts away. Take your bluetooth module out first if you have one, the pins for the connection on this are long & suspect easily damaged.
    On this picture you can see the PCB mounted rocker switch for channel 3.




    So for testing, I disconnected the black wire (common on the switch) and powered up.
    With black disconnected, the channel 3 servo sat at the centre point. touch onto yellow sends it one way, touch onto purple the other. Disconnect & it centralises again.




    Next step, disconnect purple & yellow at the switch, take the 2 screws out & remove the rocker completely.
    This leaves a slot in the case, but a standard mini toggle switch fastens into the top perfectly. I just used a bit of sticky black foam to fill the rest of the hole up.




    Solder the 3 wires into place on the new switch & job done. You don't need a 2 sets of connections on your switch, it was all I had laying around so there's a set of unused terminals on my switch. It just needs to be on-off-on to work.




    Be careful putting the case back together that you don't trap any of the wires.
    Once complete channel 3 now has a centre position instead of just full left & right. You obviously can't change end points etc, but it makes the channel much more flexible for other uses, in my case part of the rear steering on my crawler!




    Oh, I found out what the weird channel 4 issue was; it's a dodgy switching unit plugged into the receiver, nothing to do with the new transmitter at all.
    Excellent job, mate

  17. #17
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    75
    Cheers. It's still working well.

    I also had a look at making channels 4 & 5 independent, but they don't seem to want to trigger at the same time. If I ever need to have it to bits again, I might try running them through a couple of diodes to see if that helps. I don't need the functionality at the minute, but if I get bored I might give it a go.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •