RC poster

Squeeling noise Traxxas Slash 4x4 VXL Brushless (video attached)

Hey everyone,

I'm new to RC and bought the Traxxas 4x4 VXL Brushless 3 months ago. It's been running great, I mostly take it to the beach and have my dog chase it around.

A few weeks ago it stopped working, so I took it apart and noticed the gear had pretty much been shredded and it had no tread left, so the motor spur wasn't catching. I ordered a replacement gear and put it all back together. I also used a compressed air can to blow out a bunch of debris, sand and dirt. The spur catches now but it's making a terrible squeaking noise, and I'm not sure what it is.

Here's a video (note the dog squeaking in the background is a separate issue )

https://youtu.be/i6aQVd-JmKI

Any thoughts on what to look for next? It looks like the car could maybe run fine with how everything is working, but the sound is worrying.

Thanks for any help!

Hmmm, it sounds like a gear issue... Which gear was stripped? Was it the larger plastic gear (spur gear), or was it the small metal gear attached to the motor (pinion gear)? One possibility is that both gears are damaged. Check to see if there are any irregularities on the gear (sometimes debris between the gears cause that). Another possibility is a bad gear mesh. You want to make sure the gears are not too tight together or too loose. The teeth of the gears should be overlapping 80% to 90%, and have a little play in it.

Here is a video if that helps:

Hopefully the problem gets resolved!
    Everyday's a gift, thus now is called the present.

RC poster
    The larger plastic gear was stripped, not the small metal gear attached to the motor.

The pinion gear looks good and not damaged, but you know now that I think about it, I did put it all back together very tight so the mesh might be off like you said. Let me give that a shot and report back, thanks for taking a look!