RC poster

Rustler 2wd Velineon & Battery Upgrade

Hi - sorry if this is a real newbie question..

I have a Rustler XL 5 2WD that I've just upgraded with the Velineon VXL3 power system, but the old 7 cell hump 8.4V NiMH 5000mah battery is no longer holding its charge and probably doesn't suit this motor configuration...

So the question is which (presumably LiPo?) battery is a good high performance upgrade option given the mixed use terrain (not just road) that the car is used on? I appreciate that switching to LiPo would require an appropriate new charger also.

I hear that the 2 cell LiPo's are best on road only.. is that right?

Also, is the Traxxas 5000mAh 14.8V 4S 25C LiPo compatible with the Velineon set up?

Sorry if this is posted elsewhere as I'm new to this and working out how best to navigate the forum.
    Thanks for any help! Alvin

Welcome to Traxxas Forums!!

I have only run the Traxxas 2s 25C 5800mah LiPos so far, but if I were to get more, I would probably choose SMC LiPos:

2s: https://www.smc-racing.com/index.php...product_id=640

3s: https://www.smc-racing.com/index.php...product_id=641

And you will need a LiPo compatible charger to charge them if you have a NiMH-only charger.

The Velineon system can take both 2s and 3s LiPos, but many people have had overheating issues on 3s, so some people just stick to 2s to avoid any heat issues. If you are running on road, I don't think running 3s would be a problem if you gear down a tooth or two on the pinion gear. Overheating issues only really start to come up when driving offroad and in grass.

The Traxxas 4s LiPos are not compatible with the Velineon setup (any 4s LiPos are not compatible), since the most it can take is 3s.
    Everyday's a gift, thus now is called the present.

RC poster
    Thanks RCWilly. Really helpful. I'll try and find UK based suppliers of similar spec 2 or 3 cell LiPo's.

I'm assuming that the EZ Peak plus 4amp charger will do the trick?