Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Nitro questions

Question Nitro questions

Hello everyone.

I have been on and off wanting to get into nitro for the past 3-3.5 years, and now might finally have the opportunity to try it out. I am planning on getting the T-Maxx Classic. Would it be a good first nitro truck? What do I need to get into nitro that does not already come with the truck? Should I use traxxas fuel? If so, should I use the 20% or the 33% nitro? What is a good break-in procedure for the engine? What after-run maintenance needs to be done?

Sorry about how many questions this post has. I am a nitro newb.
    Who needs coffee when you have a 10KV+ capacitor?

There are fewer fuels out there now. My LHS used to carry Byrons and O'Donnell - which were fantastic - but the shop's selection is very limited now...probably Traxxas and Blue Thunder. The higher percentage you go the smaller the tuning window. 20% is pretty common.

Nitro tuning is a steep learning curve and you'll get frustrated with it. You will see why most don't want to mess with it and be part of the plug-n-play crowd. Read the manual that will come with the truck regarding break-in, tuning and after-run. Read Nitronaught's write-up in the engine subforum. Watch videos on how to tune. But once you get the hang of it, very little sounds or feels better than a nitro engine singing.
    The Super Derecho

Thanks Double G! One more question: Do you tune the engine during break-in, or after break in?

RC Qualifier
    Quote Originally Posted by GreenSpider25 View Post
    Hello everyone.